Selection Committee

The TEF Grant Selection Committee

Our selection committee members have a deep passion for providing technology education opportunities for all ages.

Each year, this team reviews applications for funding and selects the winners based on:

  • educational merit of a grant
  • the grant’s potential to have the greatest impact on closing the technology gap

If a committee member sits on the board or has any type of formal affiliation with a requesting agency, the committee member recuses her/himself from voting on that organization’s grant proposal.


Jim Berbee

Jim founded Berbee Information Networks Corporation, currently CDW, in 1993. Jim is also the event founder of the Berbee Derby, the 5K and 10K run/walk and Thanksgiving Day tradition in the Madison area where 100% of the proceeds support the Technology Education Foundation. Jim has served on the Board of Directors of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Foundation, the United Way of Dane County, and the Thompson Plumb Trust Company. After selling Berbee to CDW, he attended and graduated from Stanford School of Medicine and then completed an emergency medicine residency at the University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics. He currently serves on the board of the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF) and the Morgridge Institute for Research. Jim works as an emergency physician, and lives in Madison with his wife, Karen Walsh.



Doug Dittman

Doug has been with The Neckerman Agency since 1983, currently serving as President. He is Chair of the YMCA of Dane County and past Chair of the American Red Cross-Membership Board. Doug is a Board Member for both St. Mary’s Hospital Foundation as well as the Edgewood High School Foundation. He has been recognized both as the Young Agent of the Year by Independent Insurance Agents of Wisconsin (IIAW) and Insurance Person of the Year by Independent Insurance Agents of Dane County (IIADC).



Azita G. Hamedani MD, MPH, MBA

Azita is the Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine & Public Health. Prior to returning to her home state of Wisconsin, she was on the faculty at Harvard Medical School and completed a hospital administrative fellowship at Massachusetts General Hospital. She has been named “Top Doc” for Madison Magazine numerous times, and recently won their Service to Profession Award. Azita has a particular interest in early childhood education and volunteers her time at local public elementary schools. She lives in Madison with her husband and two school-age children.



Jeanan Yasiri Moe

Jeanan is Director of Strategic Communications for the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, also known as WARF. She has previously served as Chief Planning and Innovation Officer for Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin and as Executive Director of the University of Wisconsin Center for Nonprofits. She taught at the UW over 25 years. She has served on several community based, nonprofit boards and was a gubernatorial appointee to the National and Wisconsin Community Service Board. She was named as a “Women of Distinction” by the YWCA of Dane County.